my people murder banks and they rob helicopters

Grand Puba, 2pack, Treach & Def Jef Freestyle (some afterparty in The Early Nineties)

Saw this at the almighty Upnorth Trips and noticed he linked to the 6 minute version thats missing Puba’s extended spoken word 5% gibberish. I always meant to check out Jef’s material after this and that but never bothered, it worth my while?

Greatest drunken style evar. >>>>>>>>Ol dirty on Yo! and Gainsberg moving on pre-crack Whitney.

I wish I coulda been around when ‘Pac got less reaction than Def Jef.

Treach thinks 2pack lives in cuba.

Actual content coming soon, apologies etc

This entry was posted in down the toobs, rap, worthwhile music videos. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to my people murder banks and they rob helicopters

  1. Thun says:

    Def Jef was kind of like a West Coast Percee P (prior to Percee P moving to the West Coast) in that he had on flow that he did really well. His albums have their moments, and a bunch of cool Sly and the Family Stone samples. But really, his greatest verse by far is his cameo on Ed OG and Da Bulldogs “Speak Upon It”: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D8VQpxLiagw#t=2m36s

    I don’t think there was ever a hip hop artist with as grating a personality as 2Pac. How anyone could drink around him and not punch him in his fucking nose within seconds is beyond me.

  2. done says:

    Monie Love is technically a hip hop artist, not saying I’d Dee Barnes her but if I had my older sister with me….

    Yeah thats not bad, might have a look for his albums then. Hes no Percee though, his style was incredible – he doesnt really seem like the type who could make a proper album but one by him in his prime, maybe produced by Finesse would’ve made for at least a few bangers. I like a few of his old singles and the Madlib album was solid but just imagine.

  3. Thun says:

    Percee P, dude? Really?

  4. done says:

    Ha! I’ve even seen him live. I suppose I haven’t read enough on him to know what the consensus is but you’re not feeling him like that?

    Not much of a song-writer but hes a beast imo.

  5. You still after a copy of Bubba’s first album? Some village outlet budget CD/DVD emporium near me have a bunch in their 3 CDs for £5 sale and I can pick one up and send it over if you’re still looking for one.

  6. Nah, because that’s just some random letters I typed. I’ll mail you at your address up there. Nipping there tomorrow evening so I’ll pick one up then and get back to you.

Leave a Reply

